Hi guys, I recently decided that I'd like to get into some Japanese dramas and movies and see how they are. I do not want to start with something sad and depressing or very intense about war or torture. Not many intense thrillers are my thing. Could be a comedy, rom-com, story or life or police/crime drama. I watched the Mischievous Kiss and it was overacted and too cutesy for me. The female lead got on my nerves very quickly, too. It was the only Japanese drama I watched so far. Tips?
Also, if you happen to know that, could you tell me where I could watch those? I have DF and viki, but couldn't find anything there. 
I'm a beginner as well, but I can recommend Nodame Cantabile.  You can watch on Crunchyroll.  I see you have the Korean version on your dropped list, so I will tell you not to worry that the original will be like it.
A very random selection:
Where to watch:
  • Netlix carries a few, but it's rare, so it leaves us with more or less shady streaming sites.
  • Kissasian had a large base, but it's changed a domain recently and it's acting up ever since, so I'd be careful. Newasiantv has some of its copies (like Amachan).
  • Dramacool, but quality may be very bad (don't have to be).
  • Fastdrama on newer ones.
I tend to like the very sad and intense so am leaving out a lot of the dramas I'd normally recommend to jdrama beginners, but a few that I enjoyed that you might be interested in are:

Nobuta wo Produce: school drama about two classmates who give a makeover to an unpopular student and find themselves in the process. Gets a lot deeper than it sounds.

Hanzawa Naoki: business drama about an underdog businessman rising up to the occasion, the highest rated Japanese drama by amount of watchers in Japan in recent years. It sounds dry from the description but is really great, especially if you have experience working for a boss or company with unfair and hierarchical power structures.